Cromwellian Settlement of Ireland -1653

Map of the Settlement allocations defined by the “Act of 26th September 1653”

A. Ten Counties divided between the Adventurers & Soldiers
Antrim, Down, Armagh, Louth, Meath, Westmeath, King’s Co., Queen’s Co., Tipperary, Limerick
Aa. Louth as an additional Security to the Adventurers.
B. The Four reserved Counties
South Co. Dublin, Kildare, Carlow & Cork
C. Additional Security for the Army
Donegal, Londonderry, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Monaghan, Cavan, Longford, Kilkenny, Kerry & Wexford
D. Counties of Connaught taken by the Army though destined by the Act for the Irish.
Sligo, Leitrim,  
I, II,III, IV, V The five counties south of the Liffey to form a new English Pale.
South Co. Dublin, Kildare, Carlow, Wicklow & Wexford
a.b. Baronies of Coolock and Balrothery in Co. of Dublin for maimed English Soldiers and Widows with arrears not exceeding £150.
c. Barony of Imokelly in Co. Cork for the same.

Src: Cromwell’s Settlement of Ireland, Prendergast – 1868

This entry was posted in Family History, History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.