RC to Civil Parish Links and Maps

The Chapel mapping and civil parish link system contains details for the Catholic parishes listed in the 1848 directory listing, with mapping details for just over 2,600 churches and chapels and over 3,300 cross-links to civil parishes.

This aim of this system is to put together data on the areas covered, and chapels for these parishes were just before the Great Famine, and around 30 years before the start of civil records.

The primary source used is the parishes listed 1848 Catholic Directory  in conjunction with the Catholic Directory, Ecclesiastical Register and Almanac of 1838, and using Catholic parish references in Lewis’ Topographical Directory of 1837 in combination with townland data 1851 , and the first edition OSI Maps dating from c1837/1840 to provide locate the chapels.

To search by parish name, chapel location or civil parish etc see :
Catholic Parish, Civil Parish and Townland Links
To search for closest churches and parishes by selecting a location on map see :
R.C. Church & Parishes Map Search

As of 2nd March 2015 details for all diocese are now included in this system

.rc_diocese-progress08jCounties covered by each Diocese :

Achonry : Sligo, parts Mayo & Roscommon
Ardagh & Clonmacnoise : Longford, Leitrim, parts Westmeath, Offaly, Roscommon and Sligo
Armagh : Armagh and parts Louth, Tyrone and Derry/Londonderry
Cashel & Emly : Tipperary, parts Limerick and Cork
Clonfert : Galway, parts Roscommon & Offaly
Clogher : Monaghan, Fermanagh,  parts  Tyrone and Louth
Cork : Cork
Cloyne and Ross : Cork, and small parts Waterford
Derry : Derry/Londonderry, parts Tyrone, Donegal & Antrim
Down & Connor : Antrim, parts of Down
Dromore : Down, parts of Armagh
Dublin : Dublin, Wicklow, parts of Kildare and Wexford
Elphin : Sligo, Roscommon parts Galway
Ferns : Wexford, parts of Wicklow
Galway : Galway city, parts of Co. Galway
Kerry : Kerry, some parts Cork
Kildare & Leighlin : Kildare and Carlow
Kilalla : Mayo, parts of Sligo
Kilfenora : Parts of north Clare
Kilmacduagh : Parts of south Galway
Kilmore : Cavan, parts Leitrim, Sligo, Meath and Fermanagh
Killaloe : Clare, parts of Limerick, Tipperary and Offaly
Limerick : Limerick city and County, and some small parts Clare and Tipperary
Meath : Meath, Westmeath , parts of Offaly, Longford, Louth, Dublin & Cavan.
Ossory : Kilkenny, parts of Laois
Raphoe : Donegal
Tuam : Galway, parts Mayo
Waterford & Lismore : Waterford, parts of Tipperary

A number of churches mentioned in Lewis does not seem to appear on OSI maps, and where possible, likely locations for these based on the descriptions and civil parishes are included to aid map searches. These are flagged on the parish details screen. Several parishes, do not appear in the 1848 list, but do appear on the later and earlier listings and have been added to the mapping and parish link data e.g. Askeaton, Limerick diocese. (this is indicated on the parish information)

Primary Sources :

Townland Index 1851 (swilson.info)
RC Directory 1848 (swilson.info)
Lewis Topographical Directory 1837 (libraryireland.com)
Catholic Directory Ecclasiastical Register and Almanac of 1838   (books.google.ie)
Ordnance Survey Historic Maps – c1837 (maps.osi.ie)
Official Placename Database (logainm.ie)
Place Name N.I. (placenamesni.org)

Other Sources Include :

Google Maps (google.ie/maps)
The Traveller’s Guide Through Ireland By George Tyner – 1794 (books.google.ie)
Taylor & Skinner maps 1777
Catholic Directory 1839
Thom’s Directories, Ecclesiastical Listings (various, 1850 to 1868)
Irish Ancestors – Irish Times / John Grenham (irishtimes.com)
New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland – (2nd Ed.) Brian Mitchell
Irish Records – James G. Ryan
Down Survey of Ireland (tcd.ie)
ClareLibrary (clarelibrary.ie)
Diocese of Meath
Archdiocese of Dublin
Ros Davis’ Co Down Website (rootsweb.ancestry.com)
Diocese of Cashel & Emly
Diocese of Achonry
Killaloe Diocese
Killala Diocese
Ardagh Diocese
Diocese of Derry
Diocese of Clogher
Ireland Genealogy Projects
Diocese of Cork and Ross
Buildings of Ireland  (National Inventory of Architectural Heritage)
Diocese of Limerick
Diocese of Kerry
Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora
Kilmore Diocese
Armagh Diocese
Diocese of Elphin

This entry was posted in Family History, History, Maps, Sources. Bookmark the permalink.