County GALWAY, a maritime county of the province of CONNAUGHT, bounded on the east by the counties of Roscommon, King's county, and Tipperary, from the former of which it is separated by the Suck, and from the two latter by the Shannon; on the north, by those of Roscommon and Mayo, on the west, by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the south, by Galway bay and the county of Clare